About us

We are an incorporated society for regional amateur sport (cricket) whose mission is to provide leadership for the Counties Manukau Cricket Community – ensuring pathways from school to club for all involved.

We are one of six districts that make up the Northern Districts Cricket Association (NDCA). We are also affiliated to New Zealand Cricket (NZC).
Our region spans across all of the former Franklin District, Papakura District and Manukau City (part) and now since the boundaries were redrawn in 2010, includes some of the Waikato and Hauraki Districts.

We serve 12 cricket clubs, 12 secondary schools and 96 Primary and Intermediate schools. The 2020/21 New Zealand Cricket census showed that 8,668 people were involved in organised cricket programmes/competitions across our region. This was a jump of 41% from the previous year.

CMCA Officers


Murray Napier President
Jimmy Ross Vice President
Kelvin Woolley Patron
Glenn Schache Statistician
Lester Fitzpatrick Treasurer


Life Members


Reg Castleman Rod McGregor
Murray Napier Joe Stoupe
Roger Wark Alan Whimp
Glenn Schache Kelvin Wooley


Service Awards

Service Awards are given out to those who have contributed a service to CMCA for 10 years or more, excluding their playing years.


Name Organisation Name Organisation
Alan Whimp  Weymouth/CMCA Michael Hunter Pukekohe-Metro/CMCA
Ivan Troung Pukekohe-Metro/CMCA Bruce Montgomery Mauku/CMCA
John Keen Pukekohe-Metro/CMCA Stephanie McIeish Waiuku
Murray Napier Karaka/CMCA Richard Ansell Tuakau
Chris Innes Mauku Catherine Ansell Tuakau
Kim Williamson Drury Junior/CMCA Brian Voice Tuakau
Leanne Piskulic Manukau City/CMCA Lesley Kidd Karaka 
Rod McGregor Waiuku/CMCA  David Davies Pukekohe-Metro 
Neil Watson Pukekohe-Metro Liz Walters Karaka  
Tony Cossill Weymouth Neeraj Kumar Karaka/CMCA
Bill McEntee CMCA Jason Williams Mauku
Joanne Hardwick Pukekohe-Metro Michael Halliday Manukau City
Russell Duncan Papakura Steve Kane Tuakau
Royce Riordan CMCA Garrick Knight Glenbrook-Maramarua
Roger Wark Karaka/CMCA Louise Gavin Papakura
Ron Goble CMCA Mike Bongard United 
Jimmy Ross Pukekohe-Metro/CMCA David Guy Weymouth
Glenn Schache Manukau City/CMCA Esther Williams Mauku
Deepak Bakhoo Drury Junior/United/CMCA  Michael Schofield Karaka
Hayden Wark  Karaka


Our Historic



Official Records

Franklin and District Cricket Assn. registered in 1947

Mauku Cricket Club- the oldest club in CMCA,  established in 1859

Franklin and Districts Cricket Assn. joined Northern Districts ( formed in 1956) in 1967 before that it was a sub union of Auckland Cricket

Became Counties Cricket Assn in 1979

Became Counties-Manukau Cricket Assn (CMCA) in 1996

Since CMCA was formed in 1996 there have been two presidents- Royce Riordan(18 years) and current President, Murray Napier, for 7 years

First employee  in 2000

Peter Zanzottera was employed in 2002 and left in 2014.


All Time Records

Bowling – Wayne Ross( P Metro) 8/31 v Poverty Bay 1992

Batting – Scott Purdie( Weymouth) 210* v Poverty Bay 1998

Highest team score- 412/6 v Northland 2015

Three centuries in an innings – Nick Kelly (Wey)/ Jono Hickey (Man)/ Barry Rhodes (PM) v Poverty Bay 2015

Hawke Cup challenges- 6 (last one in 2012 prior to that 1980)

Trophies- Fergus Hickey Rosebowl- held in Jan 1975 when it was played for on a challenge basis

Brian Dunning Cup- 2008/9, 2010/11

Most appearances- Richard Halliwell ( PM& Pap)- 100

Honours Dashboard

(Franklin, Counties and CMCA) records go back to 1957

1958-  first honours board bowling -Jack Snell 7/86 v Waikato Country

1962- first honours board batting – Alan Walker 116 v NZ Brabin B

1969/70 – first NDCA 1st class rep- Philip Havill (Papakura)

CMCA Constitution | PDF

Full details of the CMCA Constitution

2019-2023 Strategic Plan | PDF

CMCA’s 5 year strategic plan outlining the direction of cricket in Counties Manukau

CMCA all time records of competition winners | PDF

Find a list of winners from CMCA club competitions