Weekend Round-Up




Karaka’s assets were upgraded again when they pocketed the Duthie Cup on Saturday. Ditto the W.H Taylor Shield (two-day), ditto the Inder Lynch Trophy (T20) and ditto the Warin Cup (overall winner).

The Duthie Cup is the prize for winning the one-day final and it comes with fringe benefits, the winner proceeds to the Northern Districts Club Championship in the following season.

Pukekohe-Metro v Karaka, Bledisloe Park, Pukekohe

Although the seasons are changing there was plenty of vitamin D in the Bledisloe Park sun on Saturday.

With ten of Pukekohe-Metro’s eleven having played senior men’s provincial cricket this season, and with Karaka determined to do the grand slam, the stage was set for the last grand prix event of the season, the Duthie Cup Final.

The tension was palpable and consequently there were errors and missteps, particularly from Pukekohe, it wasn’t a classic final by any means.

Pukekohe, batting first, jumped out of the blocks well but by the time the fifth wicket fell, (Dhruvit Patel) Pukekohe managed to have a midlife crisis. Karaka bowled and fielded well but Pukekohe found ways to lose their last five wickets for next-to-nothing.

David Simpson, playing his 119th and last game for the Karaka’s first eleven, snapped the vital wicket of Bharat Popli. Popli (48), who was running out of partners when chopped the ball onto his own stumps.

Nav Sran (3/23) took three wickets at an average of seven and Hayden Wark (2/21) had an economy rate just north of two.

The music stopped for Pukekohe at 182 in the 41st over.

Karaka did a very good job of closing out the game consuming a similar number of overs to what Pukekohe did.

The Pukekohe bowlers gave away too many wides, 21 all-up. Ash Vodnala and Cameron Hardwick reduced the bleeding, but Karaka’s was an armchair ride, they reached the target with six wickets and nine overs in reserve.

Luke Williamson was unbeaten on fifty but the headline act of the day was David Simpson. The 31-yeqr old, who made his debut in 2004/05, hit the winning boundary in his farewell match for Karaka.

It was a gloomy end to Pukekohe’s season, they had three swings and three misses and lost a two-horse race 3-0.

Pukekohe-Metro 182 (Bharat Popli 48, Katene Clarke 45, Ash Vodnala 21, Nav Sran 3/23, Hayden Wark 2/21, David Simpson 2/33) lost to Karaka 186/4 (Luke Williamson 50 no, Sam Varcoe 48, Matt Cole 26, David Simpson 9 no, Reid Somani 1/21) by six wickets.

The Manchester Shield.

The Senior A Final was played at the same time but further north. The Pukekohe- Metro team travelled to Manurewa to take on their Manukau equals.

Pukekohe laboured to 155/9 in their fifty overs, Thomas Keen fell four runs short of a half-century.

Scorebook accuracy was called for as nine of the players in the match shared the same surname.

Manukau’s skipper, Karminder Singh, was 4/17 off ten overs.

Manukau overcame a spirited late fightback by Pukekohe to take the game by two wickets just before the 7pm curfew. 

Manukau’s Rohan Bhatia (57 no) was their champion. At one point he left the crease because of an injury but he returned to be there at the end.

Pukekohe-Metro 155/9 (Thomas Keen 46, Manpreet Singh 34, Karminder Singh 4/17, Kamal Singh 1/20) lost to Manukau 158/8 (Rohan Bhatia 57 no, Mohit Thakur 30, Devinder Singh 3/22, Kurt Wilson 2/19) by two wickets.




Junior format changes


For supporting information from Northern Districts Cricket Assn regarding the Junior Format Changes, please click the following link: Junior Modified Cricket Brochure. 

The NZ Cricket District Forum , which involved all district and majors associations, was held in mid-June. 

The backdrop to this year’s forum was One CricketOne Cricket is a full national review of strategy and structure around cricket in New Zealand. It’s about positioning the game for the future.

The project outcome is To better position cricket in New Zealand so that it remains relevant and is able to thrive in a changing environment”.

There’s a plethora of things happening under One Cricket.

NZC engaged with Cricket Australia around junior formats and Cricket Australia sent its research team to the NZC Forum.

The changes Cricket Australia had brought into year 5-8 cricket impressed everyone at the forum.

They are about less wides, more hits off the bat, more runs, more boundaries and less dot balls.

In order to provide a consistent, coordinated, and aligned national approach to the development of players, NZ Cricket is making the adaptations to year 5-8 cricket compulsory next season.

The CMCA junior panel, staff, and board, has studied the changes and fully endorses them. In fact, many of the recommended changes to junior cricket have already been introduced by CMCA, some of them a decade ago.

Therefore, it has been agreed that we will make the changes to the competition formats for year 5/6 and year 7/8 cricket this season.

We believe that by increasing our kids involvement in the game we will keep them in cricket for longer.


  • Rules and changes notified to clubs by 31 August         Click here for the link to the junior rules
  • Club information night – September 11
  • Exhibition game (36 kids) Bledisloe Park. October 25th 4-6pm
  • Oct 27/28- season begins

Any questions or queries about this should be directed to me.

Trevor M Gill

CMCA Event Calendar


CMCA has developed an online Events Calendar, which is a "one stop shop" for all: players, officials, parents, supporters and anyone interested in cricket in and around our District.

Whether you want to know when the Blackcaps are playing next, or the Ford Trophy, or the mighty CMCA Senior reps defending the Hawke Cup, it can all be found on the Calendar. Just click here to go to the Calendar, then save the link, or download to your device, to keep up to date with all the relevant Events.

You can choose from many different "views" of the Events (try Agenda) and click on any Event for more information. Each Event has a link to the venue via Google Maps, so you can use it to navigate yourself to the right place.

Open yourself to our cricket world.